News | Purdue Sports

Wisdom-Hylton named first team All-Big Ten, Rayburn named Sixth Player of the Year

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. — The Big Ten announced this season’s conference awards Monday evening and five Purdue women’s basketball players were honored.

For the second time in her career, Lindsay Wisdom-Hylton was named first team All-Big Ten by the coaches and the media and for the third time is a member of the All-Defensive team. Wisdom-Hylton was one of two unanimous selections by the coaches to the first team. The senior forward finished the regular season ranked second in the Big Ten in both rebounding and steals, averaging 9.1 boards and 2.6 steals per game. Wisdom-Hylton also ranked in the top-10 in scoring and field goal percentage, averaging 12.8 points per game on 49.2 percent shooting. She leads the team in scoring and rebounding, is tied for the team lead in blocks averaging 1.6 per game, and is second in assists and steals.

Brittany Rayburn became the second Boilermaker in four years to earn Sixth Player of the Year.

Brittany Rayburn became the second Boilermaker in four years to earn Sixth Player of the Year.

Freshman Brittany Rayburn received the Sixth Player of the Year award and was named to the All-Freshman team after averaging nine points per game, second among Big Ten freshman. The Attica, Ind. native also ranked in the top-four among conference freshman in steals (1.1) and assists (1.6) per game.

Lakisha Freeman was named third team All-Big Ten by the coaches and picked up an honorable mention by the media along with teammates Danielle Campbell and FahKara Malone. Freeman is Purdue’s second-leading scorer, averaging 11.2 points per game. Campbell finished in a tie for the team lead in blocked shots and second in team rebounding, swatting 1.6 per game and pulling down 221 rebounds, an average of 7.6 boards per game. Malone earned her second career honorable mention All-Big Ten award and did so despite missing half of the conference season due to injury. The 5-foot-3 point guard is averaging 7.5 points, 2.6 steals and a team-best 4.6 assists per game.

Wisdom-Hylton was also selected as Purdue’s recipient of the conference’s Sportsmanship Award.
Ohio State took home four of the conference’s major awards. Jantel Lavender was named Player of the Year and head coach Jim Foster was named Coach of the Year by both the coaches and the media. The Buckeyes’ Shavelle Little was tabbed as the conference’s Defensive Player of the Year, as well as a member of the All-Defensive Team and Samantha Prahalis was named Freshman of the Year and is an All-Freshman team member.

Purdue (20-9, 13-5) finished the Big Ten regular season in a tie with Michigan State and Iowa for second place and has earned the No. 3 seed in the Big Ten Tournament. The Boilermakers will defend their 2007 and 2008 tournament titles by taking on the winner of Thursday’s matchup between No. 6 seed Indiana and No. 11 seed Michigan at approximately 2 p.m. ET on Friday, March 6 in Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. The game will be broadcast live on the Big Ten Network.

All-session ($65) and single-session ($12-16) tickets for the 2009 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament are still available and can be purchased at all Ticketmaster outlets, including the Conseco Fieldhouse box office, Ticketmaster charge-by-phone numbers and

In Related News:

Comments are closed.

Greater Lafayette Community Calendar

 June 2020