A new resident must get an Indiana Driver’s License within 60 days of moving to Indiana. Your Indiana Driver’s License can be obtained at the Bureau of Motor Vehicles in either Lafayette or West Lafayette.
- Lafayette Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Market Square Mall
2200 Elmwood Avenue, Suite C1
- West Lafayette Bureau of Motor Vehicles
720 West Navajo Drive (next to the West Lafayette post office)
The hours at both branches, according to the State of IN website on 7/2/04, are:
- Monday, Tuesday, and Friday: 8:30am-5:00pm
- Wednesday: 8:30am-12:30pm
- Thursday: 8:30am-6:30pm
Eligibility for an Indiana Driver’s License
You are eligible if:
- You’re a legal resident of Indiana
- You’re at least 16 years old, you’ve been at least 16 for at least 30 days, you have held a Driver’s Education Learner’s Permit in the State of Indiana for at least 60 days and have successfully completed a Driver’s Education course;
- You’re at least 16 years and 180 days old and have held an Indiana Learner’s Permit for at least 60 days;
- You’re at least 18 years of age and have held an Indiana Learner’s Permit for 60 days or present proof of any valid Operator’s License held for at least one year.
To Qualify for Licensing, A Person Must:
- Be a legal resident of Indiana;
- Meet age requirement;
- Wait required time period to make application;
- Have acceptable identification as required by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles;
- Pass vision screening;
- Pass appropriate knowledge test(s); and
- Pass drive test (if required).
Residents of Indiana who drive a motor vehicle on the roadway of the state must have an Indiana driver’s license. Application for a license can be made at any license branch which is listed in the telephone directory.
Title and Registration
Indiana also requires new residents to apply for an Indiana vehicle title and registration within 60 days of residency. At the DMV, you either surrender a sworn bill of sale or dealer invoice, or if you are from a title state, you will surrender your inspection of your car’s identification number. The title fee is $15.00. The vehicle registration fee for a passenger car is $20.75 plus a State Auto Excise Tax.
Bring the following items or pieces of information to the branch when registering a car:
- out-of-state title;
- the name of your insurance company and policy number;
- an affidavit showing that a police officer has verified your vehicle identification number.
To obtain the affidavit from the police department, go to the license branch and pick up a police check form. The inspection may be done by the Lafayette police, West Lafayette police, the Tippecanoe County Sheriff Department or the Indiana State Police.
The cost to register a vehicle varies according to model, year, make and county.
Remember: YOU MUST HAVE AUTO INSURANCE TO REGISTER OR EVEN OPERATE A VEHICLE IN INDIANA.
You cannot get registration tags or a license plate without proof of insurance. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will lose your license for 6 months and be required to pay a $500 fine to have your license re-instated.
For additional information, read the State of Indiana’s Driver License.
Para informacion en español, El Documento de Licencia de Conducir.